Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
queen of the geeks
2004-04-23 @ 11:28 a.m.

I played dress up yesterday because I have a party to go to on Saturday. One of the many collisions of past meets present I've experienced of late was running into this kid I dated briefly when breaking up with boyfriend #2. After 4 years of having my soul slowly sucked out of me with distrust, I needed a little pick me up. He was just a kid flirting with the girl from the comic store, and I was pretty impressed that he didn't back down one bit when he found out I was 5 years older than him. Plus, he wasn't ever jaded about any of the things he liked. In Mpls- the town that doesn't clap after bands finish a song, that was refreshing. I don't have any bad memories of him, because I quickly lost all patience with his youthful lack of focus towards me and moved on thereby insuring that this boy would love and worship me forever. I am fond of said boy for proving that certain truths are self-evident.

So when I looked up to see the person saying "Laura?" was him, I just laughed with delight. Especially since he was sporting cookie monster blue hair.

He ran out to his car to get a party invitation for me. He's turning 30.

I am going to establish my rule over the hipster-doofus crowd again. This crowd is even more sci-fi convention types so they have even less of the veneer of sarcastic-psuedo-intellectual-charm and boredom of the other comic geeks from my past.

It's nice to know that a social situation actually exists that I can be supremely confident about. Especially with thisendup in tow.

I can invent whatever fabulous thing I want to be, because these folks live by their suspension of disbelief.

It might be pandering a little, but hey- practice makes perfect, right?


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.