Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
science of iced coffee
2004-07-21 @ 9:49 a.m.

I�m trying to stop drinking so much soda. I haven�t bought a 24-pack in 2 weeks. It started because I couldn�t find Diet Dr. Pepper on sale, and I have a glitch about paying more than $3 for a 12-pk. I just don�t. Especially in the summertime when soda should be practically free.

So I have been drinking coffee instead.

Have I mentioned in the past how value oriented I am? I am all about knowing the best price for the largest amounts of everything. To the point of knowing that I will only buy paper goods at Target, but prefer to buy canned beans for chili at Wal-mart. I know. It�s a glitch. Back to the regularly scheduled program.

So when it�s muggy and our brains stop working, I like to employ iced coffee as reviving refreshment. However, iced coffee at every coffee house establishment is freaking $3 a glass. THIS IS INSANITY! Even regular non-slushy iced coffee is this expensive! I used to buy one iced coffee around the corner for $1.50, with 50-cent refills all freaking day in a summer that seems to me not too long ago. But clearly, these times have passed. So, myself, being on the go and value-oriented noticed that Holiday has fancy chilled creamer (by �fancy� I mean French Vanilla. Sometimes when I am real racy I might do Hazelnut for that ice cream cone flavor but I am a simple girl with the simple tastes) And Holiday also has fountain drinks with cup sizes up to 44 oz. Ice is free. A 16 oz coffee is less than $1.

It didn�t take me more than 2 tries to learn that pouring a 16 oz coffee into a 32 oz cup full of ice = iced coffee perfection. For $1. It�s best to use the dark roast, since the ice does melt and dilute the coffee.

So of course I know that I am spending at least $5 bucks a week doing this. And soda every morning is less than that. BUT! (enter the rationalization champ) If I drink this big ass iced coffee in the morning, I then drink water the rest of the day. Because dear readers- soda begets more soda. (this is somehow linked to the sushi effect noted by this scientist After one soda it�s as much soda as the day is long, and that runs about $3 a day for $1 20oz. Diet Dr. Peppers. So that rationale works for me.

Don�t think that I haven�t realized that buying myself a coffee maker would be even cheaper after the initial investment. BUT I am also lazy, and I�ll admit to really enjoying the satisfaction I get from pouring the coffee into the cup of ice and having it fit perfectly. It makes me feel like a genius. I might start wearing a lab coat.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.