Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
Friday Flashback- Eleventh grade 1985
2004-10-29 @ 11:27 a.m.

I remember when I discovered the magical power a dress could have. Quite clearly, in fact.

The summer between 10th and 11th grade I visited legalbeagle over Labor Day where her family convenes, since it's close to where my family convened every weekend. Her sister-in-law (who later, gave me my first fake ID. and rocked) had a very fruitful yard/garage/estate sale Saturday and was showing us her goods. One item was a black velvet cocktail dress that was perfection. In my awe I was petting the velvet and Kimmy uttered the gracious words -"want it? It's yours!"

So later, once returned to my camper weekend, I tried the dress on. It fit perfectly. It was knee length, 3/4 length sleeves and had a simple v-neck. I instantly looked like exactly who I'd always wanted to be. I didn't know how, but I had definitely discovered the magic of the little black dress.

Later that year, I sang "One Fine Day" in the talent show wearing that dress, the guy who I had a crush on (a hopeless crush because he was out of school and my best friend's brother)was the first person to speak to me after I left the stage,and he said the most wonderful words I'd ever heard.

"Gee. You're a dish in a black dress."

And then I conquered the universe.

Since then, I've had a knack for finding clothes that have magic qualities. What are yours? Did you secretly ever think of it as a superhero costume? Guys-do you even understand this phenomenon? If you don't- do you remember seeing a woman elevated by her clothing?


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.