Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
sulfur and molasses was the dose
2005-02-14 @ 5:15 p.m.

Once I was a sentimental thing;
threw my heart away each spring.
Now a spring romance
hasn't got a chance
Promised my first dance to winter
All I've got to show's a splinter
for my little fling.

Spring this year has got me feeling
like a horse that never left the post.
I lie in my room
staring up at the ceiling.
Spring can really hang you up the most

Morning's kiss wakes trees and flowers,
and to them I'd like to drink a toast
But I walk in the park
just to kill the lonely hours
Spring can really hang you up the most

All afternoon the birds twitter-twitt
I know the tune "This is love, this is it"
Heard it before
and don't I know the score
And I've decided that spring is a bore


Doctors once prescribed a tonic
Sulfur and molasses was the dose
Didn't help a bit
My condition must be chronic
Spring can really hang you up the most

All alone, the party is over
Old man winter was a gracious host
But when you keep praying
for snow to hide the clover,
spring can really hang you up the most

lyrics by Frances Landesman, music by Thomas J. Wolf

This is the weirdest thing- I first heard this song on Verve Records compilation, and I always remembered it as being Sarah Vaughan. But there is no Sarah Vaughan recording of "Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most" on Verve (or anywhere else that I found) so I clearly have a memory defect as well as a secret predjudice against Ella Fitzgerald for being so definitive. (that is true- I love Sarah for being such a chameleon- she can sound bright and she can sound dusky and I think she's underrated in the face of the glorious Ella, but I should give Ella her due, right? I mean, I almost named eep Ella instead because Ella Fitzgerald died in June 1996. AND she's one of two people I can stand to hear scat. Not much, but I'll allow it. Her and Mel Torme) So anyway- here's a link where you can listen to a clip of this great song. It's a little mopey in an Eeyore way, but the knowingness of the lyrics, the slight use of slang- I can barely believe that it wasn't written by Larry Hart, who wrote the best sentimental lyrics with his tongue in his cheek.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.