Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
meat free yummy
2008-06-09 @ 7:04 p.m.

I sometimes make meat free dishes, mostly because I've loved lentils since I first tried them when I was 18. More recently I've discovered quinoa and I just love it- so I made some last night, thinking I could just make it into some nice lunches and side dishes this week. I also had about a cup of red lentils too, so I cooked them up separately, thinking that I might use them in a quinoa salad. When the red lentils finished cooking, I tasted the finished product (I had cooked them so they didn't turn into stew, but were whole) since I usually buy the cheap green lentils for my recipes, and thought they tasted really rich- a lot like egg yolk, so I mixed up a little quinoa salad dish tonight for dinner of cold quinoa, red lentils, quartered cherry tomatoes, and a shake of Montreal Steak seasoning. It was delicious, and I will definitely make it again with fresh basil. MMMM quinoa- I can't wait to try it for breakfast like oatmeal- warm with fruit and a yogurt or creme fraiche..


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.