Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
drop the curtain already on this saga
2003-09-18 @ 10:44 a.m.

lights up- 2 am. 7 hours later.

LAP wakes up to her cell phone ringing out of reach. She misses the call and waits to see if voice mail is left. She's pretty sure it's Princess Extera, mistress of annihilation.

I barely could understand the voice mail. It was a kind of plea to call her with something about calling a cab. Like a bass- I take bait.

(insert Russian accented voice here)"I am so glad you called. I am here with your ex, he finished fucking me 3 times- no problem ..."

LAP:"Why the fuck did you call me?"

IRAV: Because he has hurt his arm and he will not call 911. (noise as the Daddyman takes the phone from her)

"She's still here and she won't leave."

LAP: Are you hurt?

him: I think my arm might be broken.

LAP: I should call 911? I don't even know your address.

him: It's 1919. She won't leave..

Honestly I don't remember much more of the details than that- the only thing that was clear was that they used something, and now were apparently fighting. I decided to call 911. I gave the operator the address, both their names, the info that the doorbell didn't work and they should go to the side window. The info that they had a history of crack cocaine abuse and physically attacking each other, the info that she was not an American citizen and would try to avoid any arrest, and that even if the victim (?!) was hurt he would probably protect her from arrest too. I stressed that if he was hurt, that police shouldn't believe any reports that "she had left". If they were fighting it would continue all night.

Then I got a call from the Daddyman:

LAP: I just finished calling 911.

him: You DID?

LAP: I thought that's what you both were asking me to do. You gave me your address for chrissake! I figured that was permission.

him: I better go outside to wait for them.

LAP: Why exactly was I called?! What was it that you WANTED me to do?

him: I don't know.

So I am amped and in fight or flight response, but I can go nowhere and do nothing else. The girls are sleeping nicely in their beds as my teeth chatter. (it wasn't that cold- it's part of my nervous reaction make up I guess) the phone rings with a number I believe I recognize as KGB.

I answer the phone this way-

LAP: Call here again bitch and it'll be a restraining order.

Unknown voice: Is this LAP?

LAP: Yes.

UV: This is Michelle from 911. Who did you think was calling you.

LAP: insert KGB's name here. I thought her number was showing for caller ID. (It's weird, because since he used to have my cell phone during the day she would call, and I had her programmed as "don't answer", but it just came up the number instead of showing "don't answer".

UV: Can you give me the number she's calling from?

LAP:I can't get into my call records unless I'm off the phone.

UV: Please do so, and call me back here at 911. Ask for Michelle.

I do.

UV:Thanks I wanted to ask if you were sure of the address you gave "1919" are you sure it isn't 20th and Pleasant? We may have gotten a duplicate call.

I gave the details of the building- describing where it stood on the block and the buildings on either side. I stated I had spoken to the Daddyman since I made the call and he had said he would be waiting out front. I encouraged the attending officers to still go into the apartment and look for KGB because he would hide her even if she had hurt him. Suffice it to say that since the police were called I wanted whatever insanity that led to me be called to be sufficiently stopped. If they were playing with fire (and in one way or another, they had to be) I wanted them to get burned. I wanted damage and treatment.

I sit with chattering teeth for about 40 minutes, trying to read in bed. My 4 year old joins me in bed. I cannot sleep. I am wakeful and stressed stressed stressed. Is the Daddyman at the hospital? Is he still attending the picnic? What the fuck?! Are the questions dancing in my head.

I take a bath and decide to try calling his cell phone (which you may recall, I bought minutes for)

LAP: What's going on? Did you go to the hospital?

him: My life is ruined. My life is ruined. My life is ruined. My life is ruined. My life is ruined.

I am hung up on. I am freshly angry. Dragged into the vortex, somehow I am some kind of bad guy. I call to leave a message about the picnic stupidly thinking only of how important seeing the baby had seemed to him. Another call comes in from- you've got it! It's insert Russian accented voice here!

IRAV: I am calling because I know you are trying to reach your ex. He is fucking me as we speak and I just want you to know he was telling me how awful his life is and how desperate he is..

LAP: You're still there?

IRAV: LAP! I am telling you! He's fucking me right now!

LAP:Why are you bothering me with this kind of crap?! I don't give a single shit about what you're doing! I was only calling because I was worried he was in the emergency room hurt, and wanted to find out about him seeing the baby because it SEEMED very important to him! You call me in the middle of the night to harass ME and drag me once again into something I am no part of AND NOW I am blamed for actions you both asked me to take?! I've HAD it! Tomorrow I'm filing a restraining order against you and I'll be calling the stupid hospital where you work to let them know that you're once more up to no good! I'll be sure to refer them to the 911 call made against you so you can't smokescreen them.

Damn- you can't end a call with enough hostility on a cell phone. Someone needs to format a parting message for hanging up that says "the caller hates your guts and cannot stand to speak to you for one more minute. Please go and play in traffic."

him again: I'm sorry. Will you still come at 10 am? Can we keep this all on hold until tomorrow at 10?

LAP: whatever. It's not like I can leave the girls and file a police report in the middle of the night.

The next day SHE dropped him off at 10:30. I was livid pretty much the entire time. I am entirely sick of the Legion of Doom and all the members. I managed as much as I could to leave it be, because I didn't want the baby's adoptive family to be disappointed. Also I thought it was really important that the Daddyman see how happy and content the baby's family is. I am glad I did that.

As things stand, apparently they are involved again. I don't care. Today I am really past it. It keeps him away from me.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.