Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
re:from a birth mother
2004-03-31 @ 8:48 a.m.

The company I work for has always had Adoption Reimbursement as a benefit. Before I left for that year, I used to work in Benefits so I was aware of it and thought it was a cool thing.

So anyway, a while ago I see this poster in the hall of our building featuring information about adoption. It was sort of �selling adoption�, but not creepy- like �you might make a great adoptive parent� and then it had a link for more info. I was curious and found out now my company has an �Adoption Network� that features bi-monthly information meetings with themes and the like. But it was compelling to me, so I sent this e-mail:

Hello, I was interested in this program being that I recently gave a child up to be adopted in the past year. It�s been a very good experience, and if you ever needed any input from a birth mother who is also a team member, I wanted to let you know I was willing to share my experience as a birth mother, and my experience with an open adoption.

I figured it would be weeks before I heard anything back, because I work for a big company and that�s how they roll. The next day I got an e-mail from the Sr. Communications Coordinator:

Laura - Thank you so much for your note. I am thrilled to hear from you! I will definitely put you on our list of team members that are willing to speak.

I am an adoptive mom and a birth mom, so I would love to chat with you sometime. My birth son will be 24 in May, so my experiences as a birth mom will be very different than yours. Open adoption was not legal back then. A lot has changed for the better! I was reunited with my son about 6 years ago, and I have a great relationship with him and his adoptive parents.

My adopted daughter is 2, and I have an open relationship with her mom. We don't get to see her because she lives in Arizona, but we stayed with her for two weeks after Janelle was born. Letters, pictures and phone calls are great, but I really wish we could see Amber (birth mom) on a regular basis. We love her and miss her so very much!

Let me know if you'd like to talk sometime. Maybe lunch?

And so, today we are having lunch.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.