Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
back in action
2004-05-10 @ 10:13 a.m.

So the reason there was no update on Friday, was because I was in the car with 6 other family members driving to Milwaukee. 2 of the family members were, of course, my irrepressible children.

The drive wasn�t so bad. The girls kept their tiredness and whining to a minimum really for almost the trip�s entirety.

In my stress over the details regarding whether the trip could even be possible I did note that the whole reason I suggested the girls and I go on the trip was completely selfish on my part. I had been anticipating being forgotten on Mother�s Day and didn�t want to deal with the pity party that was sure to come especially on the heels of a trip down what I now fondly refer to as �the woman pipe� (thanks to the queen of memorable phrases, jargon, and nicknames .

And off we went. This was basically a trip to celebrate my Nana�s 96th birthday, which was April 12. Nana is my Dad�s mother, and I love her more than any other person on this earth. There was a big birthday celebration at my baby sister�s house that lives in Milwaukee. Because my baby sister holds the reins of life quite tightly in her control (and I say this in all admiration, because Amy RULES and still has fun) the party was awesome. The food was awesome; having my baby sister show me the home she owns was the coolest, and even the behavior of my kids was joyful and entertaining.

So really, Mother�s Day was completely forgotten in the face of the birthday and it was good. My mom and I just hugged each other and said how glad we both were that I was able to go on the trip with the girls.

And that�s really how we both felt!

For the most part, the large crevasse of separation that I felt just one year ago has disappeared. I wish I could be closer to my baby sister because I am really proud of her and admire her so much. It�s my goal this year to make sure she knows that. I know all the things we still have in common that she might not be so sure about anymore. I can close that gap with confidence. I know some of it was caused by another older sister that can�t deal with her younger siblings being adults when she herself is still a neurotic mess. I don�t have those issues.

The power of SINGULA has not been compromised.

I still am somewhat amazed that both my sisters have married so wonderfully and well. I watch them as couples and it makes me so happy and grateful that I never married Sal .

That in itself, is a gift that keeps on giving.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.