Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
picnic 2004 (what a difference a year makes)
2004-09-20 @ 8:35 a.m.

We went to the adoption picnic on Saturday. It was a nice day, and it was really fun to watch April play. She�s absolutely hilarious. There was a moment when her 10 yr old brother was showing her the temporary tattoo he had on his forehead-(it was a cat) and April said it was a �miaow� and then she kissed it, and immediately afterwards went into peals of laughter because she clearly saw how funny it was that she just kissed a cat that was on her brother�s forehead.

The mina followed her around playing, helping, and encouraging her the whole time. Everything was �good job April!� and it was extra fun because April�s mom is the mina�s Kindergarten teacher, so- well, I�m not actually sure why that makes it �extra� fun, but it was.

I found out that I was paid for being on the birthmother panel I was on months ago! I was asked to appear again in December, and I would have said yes regardless, but I like $20, I will accept $20 almost anytime it is offered to me. I will be getting a new check for the March appearance, because the one that was found was over 6 months old.

It had been a year since Sal had seen April in person. This was largely due to KGB�s ridiculous bitterness and additional issues regarding the pregnancy, birth, and adoption. I have heard him say that he was at peace with the adoption, and that he knew that April was in the right place, but I wasn�t sure I believed it until Saturday. It was a really good feeling.

So anyway, a good time was had by all.

PS- The Mina was stung by a bee! There is no history of bee allergies in either family, but as we comforted her I did pause to think and say �If she was allergic the trouble would�ve already started, right?� So poor brave Mina (and April comforted her saying �uh oh baby�) but it�s good to know. Is that mean?

A Catalog of Simple Wishes


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.