Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
halloween martyr
2004-09-29 @ 10:16 a.m.

�Lo now, what hearts have men! they never mount As high as woman in her selfless mood.� --Tennyson.

The sad fact is, heelandlass, I am TOTALLY a martyr. I just don�t wear it on my sleeve, but I am apparently incapable of not making any choices that are not of the selfless variety.

I�m going to make up bumper stickers that read �What would Laura Do?� in fact.

Most of the definition of martyr doesn�t really apply to anyone anymore. It�s the third two part definition that is most commonly used.
a. One who endures great suffering:
b. One who makes a great show of suffering in order to arouse sympathy.

Thank goodness I am much closer to �a� than I am �b�, but it�s a strange thing to be thankful for.

Over the past week, I have spent a lot of time thinking (obsessing) about my martyr glitch, to the point where I was doodling sacred hearts, and the side effect is that I have decided on a Halloween costume.

SuperMartyr! I will be wearing a tank top emblazoned with a sacred heart, a skirt, knee high boots, and (of course) a cape. My hands will show stigmata, and there will be blood seeping through my shirt to imply the stigmatic wound in my side. I�ll wear a half-mask so not to expose my sacrifice (of course)

I suppose it would be in bad taste to wear it trick or treating with the kids�but really, the neighborhood we go through is pretty hip�.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.