Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
sigh
2005-02-11 @ 12:13 p.m.

''Dislocation, maybe, is part of our uneasiness. It implants the feeling that nothing is really permanent.''

I'm really sad that Arthur Miller died. He was 89 though, so...

My junior year in high school when we studied The Crucible (which is insanely fun to quote. Try it! "I saw Goody Proctor consorting with the devil!!") we saw a short movie about Arthur Miller and it was addressed that he was married to Marilyn Monroe. One of my classmates snorted "Why would she ever marry him?" to which I said. "I totally get it. I'D marry Arthur Miller in a heartbeat." and one of the snorter's friends (who was quite popular and lovely herself) smiled at me and said "You totally would..." like that was something to be admired about me. I sort of consider it to be myself, of course.

I always feel like he understood who Marilyn Monroe wanted to be. This quote about her is just lovely and sad.

''To have survived, she would have had to be either more cynical or even further from reality than she was,'' he wrote. ''Instead, she was a poet on a street corner trying to recite to a crowd pulling at her clothes.''

I don't feel like anyone I've known has ever been able to see me, or who I want to be as clearly as he did her.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.