Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
Welcome to the working week (Oh, I know it don't thrill you, I hope it don't kill you)
2005-09-12 @ 7:16 p.m.

yum yumyum

I made this for dinner. No one else got a plate as pretty as mine, because I am the only person in my family that will eat tomatoes.

First of all put two chicken breasts on the George Foreman grill(season with Montreal Steak Seasoning) and make some Wide Fettuccini. Then make some pesto and reflect on how Martha Stewart's new talk show debuted today and you couldn't care less. Lazily cheat on the recipe by dunking the basil leaves into the pasta water as it boils..find it works well and decide to pretend you are merely efficient..

Take the chicken breasts off the grill after making sure that they are cooked through since they are larger than the continent. Cut the tops off two red peppers that are past their prime for eating raw and pull out the seeds. Put peppers on grill and close. When peppers are seared they are roasted outside and steamed inside. Cut into strips. Cut chicken into strips crosswise and cut through the middle too since they are just gigantic. What chickens do these skinless boneless chicken breasts come from? I wouldn't want to meet them in any dark alley, that's for sure...

Drain the fettuccine. Add 1/2 stick of butter, and pesto to taste.

Put pasta with pesto on plates and if you are serving your insane offspring that won't eat most any vegetable, put only sliced chicken on top.

Then if you are a normal tomato-loving person, you slice roasted red peppers and cut beautiful perfect pear tomatoes in half and mix with the pasta.

Sprinkle with kosher salt. Or parmesan cheese, if you must, but I'm not so big on the parm myself and I think that salt brings the garlic flavor out in the pesto better.

If you wanted to reserve some toasted walnuts, or basil leaves and garnish the plates, you sure could. But you would have to like yourself and your family a lot to mess with garnishes. I am amazed that I like myself enough to mess with the lovely extras like tomatoes and peppers.

yum

Do you see how lovely the colors of this dish are? Yellow, and green, and red and white...

Eating this will make you ask the eternal question:
"Why d'you wanna be my friend when I feel like a juggler running out of hands?"


No it won't, but that's another great Elvis Costello quote from this song.

Enjoy!


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.