Project1
new - older - surprise! - mommylap - adoption - e-mail - home
Krazy ad infinitum
2004-04-30 @ 11:18 a.m.

This is the classic Krazy & Ignatz by the cartoonist George Herriman. This image, minus the background and word balloons is almost exactly the tattoo I have on my right shoulder. My tattoo has a POW! In big block letters around Krazy�s head along with the hearts.

I got this tattoo when I was 24. Like Krazy, I have always confused getting hit with a brick as being in love.

The only thing I don�t like about my tattoo is that I put it somewhere that I can�t look at it. It fits really well on my shoulder, however, and until the day my right arm is bit off by a shark, I don�t think my body will ever distort my tattoo.

"In Krazy Kat the poetry originated from a certain lyrical stubbornness in the author, who repeated his tale ad infinitum, varying it always but sticking to its theme. It was thanks only to this that the mouse's arrogance, the dog's unrewarded compassion, and the cat's desperate love could arrive at what many critics felt was a genuine state of poetry, an uninterrupted elegy based on sorrowing innocence. In a comic of this sort, the spectator, not seduced by a flood of gags, by any realistic or caricatural reference, by any appeal to sex and violence, freed then from the routine of a taste that led him to seek in the comic strip the satisfaction of certain requirements, could thus discover the possibility of a purely allusive world, a pleasure of a "musical" nature, an interplay of feelings that were not banal. To some extent the myth of Scheherazade was reproduced: the concubine, taken by the Sultan to be used for one night and then discarded, begins telling a story, and because of the story the Sultan forgets the woman; he discovers, that is, another world of values."

Umberto Eco, translated from the Italian by William Weaver, from "The World of Charlie Brown", �1963 Umberto Eco

Fantagraphics Books is currently publishing The Komplete Kat Komics editions, designed by Chris Ware and there couldn�t be a more beautiful collection. The simplicity, charm, and resounding revelance of Krazy Kat is ageless. These comic strips make you laugh, but they speak quietly to your heart too.

While I am talking about the coolest things ever (in regards to my life) you should also check this out because early Peanuts reprints make me feel as good as the days I used to pump on the swing as high as I possibly could , and then jump off. I can�t wait for The Complete Peanuts 1950-1952 to come out. Again Fantagraphics is hitting it out of the park by having a hip cartoonist who couldn�t be more reverant to Charles Schultz design the collection. If you have never read really early Peanuts strips, they are priceless.

"...after World War II, when I came home, Krazy Kat became my hero. I had never seen Krazy Kat up until then because neither one of the papers in the Twin cities published it, so I didn't know Krazy Kat. But then it became my ambition to draw a strip that would have as much life and meaning and subtlety to it as Krazy Kat had."

Charles Schulz , interviewed by Rick Marschall and Gary Groth in Nemo 31, January 1992

Oh yeah- vote for {public domain} one more time if only for me.


Apparently I can't shut up...
hearts aflutter - 2011-04-12
blather over lunch - 2010-04-30
revival - 2010-04-18
foot dragger - 2009-08-21
The bangs of a Stooge - 2009-08-20

This page is powered by Copyright Button(TM).
Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.